Rowena Cory Daniells at Supanova Brisbane November

I’ll be interviewing Rowena very soon this will show up on my blog.

For now, check out what she has been doing at Supanova this November. Exciting!

I’ve been involved in speculative fiction since 1976 when Paul Collins and I moved to Melbourne where we set up the small press publishing house Cory and Collins. Working as Paul’s assistant gave me an insight into the travails of Independant Press publication and a great respect for anyone who does it.

Since then I’ve run a bookshop, then a graphic art studio where I illustrated children’s books, had 6 children in 10 years, sold nearly 30 children’s books, a fantasy trilogy and my latest fantasy trilogies with Solaris as well as establishing R&D Studios with my husband Daryl (hence the R & D).I like to support the writing community so I’ve served on the management committees of Romance Writers of Australia, the Queensland Writers Centre, and the Brisbane Writers Festival. I was one of the founders of Fantastic Queensland (FQ) which runs Clarion South, and served on the Aurealis Awards for five years.

I’ve established a national award genre award, and set up national workshops and pitching opportunities.I’ve run workshops on writing at national SF conventions, schools and libraries and World Con 1999. Marianne de Pierres and I were founding members of the VISION writing group which went on to form Fantastic Queensland. Together we formed ROR, the national critiquing group.I live by the bay in Brisbane, with my husband and six children (the older ones come and go depending on finances).

Martial arts have always interested me. I studied each of these for five years, Tae Kwon Do, Aikido and Iaido, the art of the Samurai sword.I have a Masters in Arts (Research) and I received a Distinction in Drama Screen Writing unit through Griffith UNI. Currently, I’m an Associate Lecturer at Qantm College.

check out the details on the website

http://www.supanova.com.au/guest/rowena-cory-daniells/

About jillswrites

I am a writer of SciFi Books 'Dual Visions' and it's follow up 'Vashla's world'. I also write book reviews, articles and short stories. Several of my short stories appear in a collaborative book for children called Fan-tas-tic-al Tales written in conjunction with my fellow members of The Ten Penners, this was a follow-up book to 'Shock, Horror, Gasp'. Fan-tas-tic-al Tales was released in 2009, now available in hard copy and on Amazon. We are currently in the completing our next adventure based anthology called 'Mystery, Mayhem & Magic' scheduled for release later in 2017. As a member of BookCoasters the Gold Coast Library blog, complementing my own blog, I enjoy blog being able to showcase my work. My book reviews appear in PIO (Pass It On) and e-Writeabout. I'm a happy Grandmother to two beautiful girls, wife of the ever tolerant Clive, mother of our son Simon. I work part time and lead a busy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rowena Cory Daniells at Supanova Brisbane November

  1. Which author made you discover reading and your love of story?

    It seems a little sad to admit it, but the first series that I was truely passionate about was Goosebumps, by R.L Stine (though, admittedly, most of them were written by ghost writers). I remember when I was nine or ten having my own Goosebumps inspired series planned. I wrote the blurbs and designed the covers for about ten of them. They were mostly about larger-than-normal animals. EG: Giant alien spiders, giant sharks, though one was about a unicorn that gored people to death.

    Thankfully there have been many better authors and many better story ideas since then!

  2. Jill Smith says:

    Hi Talita, Thanks for responding to the giveaway question, you are in the running to win one of Rowena’s awesome books. Funny you should mention Goosebumps by R.L. Stine, I have a series of these when my son was young and I was attempting to get him into reading, these were one of the few books he would read. Everyone has to have a starting point. Please subscribe to my blog if you enjoyed the interview.

Leave a Reply

