Kelly Anne McLean founder of Aust Writers Rock interview…

I’m into the fourth month of the year before being able to share an interview with my readers. I’ve started a Interviews 2014 tab where you can read the whole article.

Kelly Anne McLean pic 2Today I’m pleased to interview Kelly Anne McLean, Literary Agent, founder of Australian Writers Rock and soon to be publisher of an exciting new magazine sharing Australian Book Reviews.

Breaking into a market covered by such literary professional magazines like ABR (Australian Book Review), and ‘Goodreading’ for shorter reviews, is no mean feat. I’m delighted that Kelly is creating a new publication to enter this market, and excited she has me along for the inception of this publication, so for some insight into her life, here we go.

Q1.  When did you start reading and writing reviews?

  • It’s a long story but basically I was looking for a really good book to read and I specifically wanted to read one by an Australian Author.  I went to the local library and had to look through hundreds of books to find one.  I took several books home and the one I read immediately was Bluey’s War by Herb Hamlet.  It was one of the best books I have read and still the book that I considered started it all.  I sat at the computer and wrote a book review.  I started a group called Australian Writers Rock and posted the Book Review, that was 5 years ago.

Q2 & 3.    What were your first writing efforts.   What have you had published?bluey's war cover

  • I have always written.  I have had Poetry published at High School and have published book reviews, blogs and websites for the past 5 years.

Q4.     You told me you started AWR on facebook and developed a blog as a result.  Did you find you met many writing friends through this medium and then entered the world as a Literary Agent as a result?

  • Yes, I met publishers, writers, book reviewers, authors, book sellers, book store owners, self-published writers and many more people associated with the publishing industry and it was at the suggestion of a publisher that I may have access to some great work that had not been published main stream that I became a Literary Agent.

Q5.         When you began AWR you were surprised by the response, can you share with my readers the beginnings of this site from FB to website?

  • I found the reaction to the Facebook group exceptional, my couple of reviews attracted a wealth of writers and even book sellers but I also found the group limiting.  I started a website called Australian Writers Rock, publishing my reviews and attempting to make an A-Z listing of Australian Writers.  The aim though was to make it easy for readers of Australian work to buy the novel/work so each listing was accompanied by a live buying link.  Sales went up for those with books listed and I began to get many requests for listings.  Novels were sent to me by self-published authors, publishers and even publicists for me to review.  In AWR’s second year, I revamped and republished the website and it got over 100000 page views in one day!  For something that started as a little bit of fun, it was going okay.

For the rest this interview go to the new Interviews 2014 tab….

Leave a Reply

