Ashling – The Obernewtyn Chronicles – Book Three Book review

This is Book Three of this Brilliant series by Australian Author Isobelle Carmody.

For more about her and her impressive array of published books go to

This is my review of Ashling – The Obernewtyn Chronicles – Book Three

ReAshling coverview by Jill Smith©Jan16

Elspeth Gordie is Guildmistress of Obernewtyn. Yet she still travels to rescue Misfits in the land. This book opens with her rescuing an old gypsy. The woman is tied at the steak for burning. The woman cares little about her plight. The rescue comes with help from an arrow that lodged in the Herders chest. Who helped them and why? The old woman was tortured and now lays unconscious. Elspeth takes her to their safe house for Kella the healer to work on.

The help from the mysterious man becomes another piece in the isobelle carmody profile picpuzzle for Elspeth had to interpret, more clues on her own journey.

Elspeth had travelled with Matthew. The wild child Dragon had come after them as she had been following Matthew like an infatuated teen. They were trying to keep a low profile so not to arouse the Herders or Soldier-guards suspicion. Dragon goes to the market square after a rebuttal of her affections by Matthew. The feisty red head sees a woman abused by a soldier-guard and two small children with her in danger. The wild instincts in her take over and she rushes to save the children.

Matthew and Elspeth have to get Dragon away. Without having the soldier-guards follow them and discover their safe house. When Dragon continues to make a fuss, Elspeth uses her coercive talent to get through Dragon’s shield and knock her unconscious.

Elspeth finds the gypsies and meets Swallow the leader. Their elaborate decorated wagons mark them the Twenty Families, a group of gypsies unlike the other roaming nomads. They devise a plan to get the old woman back to her people. Swallow had helped release his kin from the Herders.

carmody-isobelle picThis is the third book in the Obernewtyn series. I found a lot of it enthralling although a little depressing. It is an essential part of the continuing story that Elspeth looses friends and battles her own inner demons. I’m glad the series continues. Elspeth Gordie learns that she can live her life, while still going on her journey to meet her future told destiny.

The Obernewtyn Chronicles

Book 1: Obernewtyn
Book 2: The Farseekers
Book 3: Ashling
Book 4: The Keeping Place
Book 5: The Stone Key
Book 6: The Sending
Book 7: The Red Queen (forthcoming 2015) (now released!!)



About jillswrites

I am a writer of SciFi Books 'Dual Visions' and it's follow up 'Vashla's world'. I also write book reviews, articles and short stories. Several of my short stories appear in a collaborative book for children called Fan-tas-tic-al Tales written in conjunction with my fellow members of The Ten Penners, this was a follow-up book to 'Shock, Horror, Gasp'. Fan-tas-tic-al Tales was released in 2009, now available in hard copy and on Amazon. We are currently in the completing our next adventure based anthology called 'Mystery, Mayhem & Magic' scheduled for release later in 2017. As a member of BookCoasters the Gold Coast Library blog, complementing my own blog, I enjoy blog being able to showcase my work. My book reviews appear in PIO (Pass It On) and e-Writeabout. I'm a happy Grandmother to two beautiful girls, wife of the ever tolerant Clive, mother of our son Simon. I work part time and lead a busy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s