Camp NaNoWriMo, Day 17, Kate Russell

Camp NaNoWriMo – Day 17

by katharinerussell

Well, I took a bit of a sideways step today – still editing etc, but on a different manuscript! After the Gold Coast Writers’ Association meeting on Saturday, I decided to bite the bullet and enter the 2016 Novel Award. The draft I’m working on for Camp is nowhere near ready – so I decided to spend today polishing up one of my other manuscripts which is in much better shape, especially as I only need to send in the first few chapters.

As the competition finalists have the chance to be reviewed by Annette Barlow, editor at Allen & Unwin, it was just too good an opportunity to pass up. So, sorry, Camp manuscript, you will have to wait for a couple of days – but I will get back to you soon, I promise!

The competition closes at midnight on 31 July 2016, so if you, like me, want to give it a shot, you’d better hurry! See the GCWA website for details: http://www.goldcoastwriters.org/competitions-gcwa/

About jillswrites

I am a writer of SciFi Books 'Dual Visions' and it's follow up 'Vashla's world'. I also write book reviews, articles and short stories. Several of my short stories appear in a collaborative book for children called Fan-tas-tic-al Tales written in conjunction with my fellow members of The Ten Penners, this was a follow-up book to 'Shock, Horror, Gasp'. Fan-tas-tic-al Tales was released in 2009, now available in hard copy and on Amazon. We are currently in the completing our next adventure based anthology called 'Mystery, Mayhem & Magic' scheduled for release later in 2017. As a member of BookCoasters the Gold Coast Library blog, complementing my own blog, I enjoy blog being able to showcase my work. My book reviews appear in PIO (Pass It On) and e-Writeabout. I'm a happy Grandmother to two beautiful girls, wife of the ever tolerant Clive, mother of our son Simon. I work part time and lead a busy life.
This entry was posted in gold coast writers association and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

