Happy New Year 2017 here we go…

032Happy New Year!

I have big plans for 2017 not the least of which is a trip to go overseas for a double celebration of my 60th Birthday and my lovely husband and I being married for 40 years.

Naturally, I will continue to read and review books. Write more, read more, edit more all the while learning. I believe a writer is on a continual learning curve. Meanwhile, I work to earn the money to be able to travel.

The following is a book review of ‘Cooyar’ by Sandra L Rogers, another talented Australian Author who has published many other books in quite different genres including Beyond Armageddon, It Begins But Never Ends, An Unbelievable Life – Authorised Biography of Lynn Santer.

cooyar-coverBook Review by Jill Smith©Dec16

Title: Cooyar

Author: Sandra Rogers

Publisher: Zeus Publications

I loved this book. I had to re-read the first chapter after I got to the end.

It’s a beautiful story about the joys and hardships of living on a property in central Queensland. Cooyar is vividly brought to life, the dust and the flys, the rough life and the love that develops on the soil.

Frances is the property owners head-strong daughter. She loves Cooyar and going to boarding school to make her a young lady is Jess and Malcolm’s only sacrifice. They are pleased with the result when she comes home for her fourteenth birthday party. The head stockman Will is her best friend. He understands the connection Frances has with the land.

Their link with each other becomes heightened as they grow older. They kiss just once when Frances delivers the evening meal for the stockmen. Granny sees them kiss. Disapproving she sends Will on a holiday to Darwin to be with his Aboriginal family.

The drought that cripples the country breaks with a flood. As often happens in Australia the extreme conditions dictate the lives of those choosing to live on the land. Frances returns to the farm to find Will has returned to help. They consummate their love for one another.

Frances returns to her city life and Will joins up to fight in the WWII. When sandra-rogers-piche is reported missing and believed dead, she impulsively marries a sailor, Arnold Smith who is deployed on the HMAS Vampire which is sunk. Arnold is rescued and returns to Australia where they settle down on their own cattle property Wongadoo and raise their son Barry. But they are not destined to live a happy life.

I loved the real life feel to this story, particularly the end which is very fitting.

Sandra has returned to writing with a book that is memorable and a joy to read. I hope she will continue to write more heartrending Australian tales.

About jillswrites

I am a writer of SciFi Books 'Dual Visions' and it's follow up 'Vashla's world'. I also write book reviews, articles and short stories. Several of my short stories appear in a collaborative book for children called Fan-tas-tic-al Tales written in conjunction with my fellow members of The Ten Penners, this was a follow-up book to 'Shock, Horror, Gasp'. Fan-tas-tic-al Tales was released in 2009, now available in hard copy and on Amazon. We are currently in the completing our next adventure based anthology called 'Mystery, Mayhem & Magic' scheduled for release later in 2017. As a member of BookCoasters the Gold Coast Library blog, complementing my own blog, I enjoy blog being able to showcase my work. My book reviews appear in PIO (Pass It On) and e-Writeabout. I'm a happy Grandmother to two beautiful girls, wife of the ever tolerant Clive, mother of our son Simon. I work part time and lead a busy life.
This entry was posted in book review, Recommended and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

